Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-xviii
  2. Interdisciplinary Studies

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 1-1
    2. Tetsuro Urabe, Jun-ichiro Ishibashi, Michinari Sunamura, Kyoko Okino, Ken Takai, Katsuhiko Suzuki
      Pages 3-10 Open Access
    3. Hidenori Kumagai, Hiromi Watanabe, Takuya Yahagi, Shigeaki Kojima, Shun’ichi Nakai, Shin Toyoda et al.
      Pages 49-59 Open Access
    4. Katsunori Yanagawa, Jun-ichiro Ishibashi, Takao Arai, Tetsuro Urabe, Michinari Sunamura
      Pages 61-69 Open Access
    5. Katsuhiko Suzuki, Shingo Kato, Takazo Shibuya, Takehiro Hirose, Shigshi Fuchida, V. J Rejish Kumar et al.
      Pages 71-85 Open Access
    6. Shingo Kato, Katsuhiko Suzuki, Takazo Shibuya, Jun-ichiro Ishibashi, Moriya Ohkuma, Akihiko Yamagishi
      Pages 95-103 Open Access
  3. Central Indian Ridge

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 131-131
    2. Kyoko Okino, Kentaro Nakamura, Hiroshi Sato
      Pages 133-146 Open Access
    3. Hiroshi Sato, Kentaro Nakamura, Hidenori Kumagai, Ryoko Senda, Tomoaki Morishita, Akihiro Tamura et al.
      Pages 163-175 Open Access
    4. Tomoaki Morishita, Kentaro Nakamura, Takazo Shibuya, Hidenori Kumagai, Taichi Sato, Kyoko Okino et al.
      Pages 177-193 Open Access
    5. Takuroh Noguchi, Tatsuhiro Fukuba, Kei Okamura, Akira Ijiri, Katsunori Yanagawa, Yoshiyuki Ishitani et al.
      Pages 195-204 Open Access
    6. Hiromi Watanabe, Girish Beedessee
      Pages 205-212 Open Access
  4. Southern Mariana Trough

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 213-213

About this book


This book is the comprehensive volume of the TAIGA (“a great river ” in Japanese) project. Supported by the Japanese government, the project examined the hypothesis that the subseafloor fluid advection system (subseafloor TAIGA)   can be categorized into four types, TAIGAs of sulfur, hydrogen, carbon (methane), and iron, according to the most dominant reducing substance, and the chemolithoautotrophic bacteria/archaea that are inextricably associated with respective types of TAIGAs which are strongly affected by their geological background such as surrounding host rocks and tectonic settings. Sub-seafloor ecosystems are sustained by hydrothermal circulation or TAIGA that carry chemical energy to the chemosynthetic microbes living in an extreme environment.  The results of the project have been summarized comprehensively in 50 chapters, and this book provides an overall introduction and relevant topics on the mid-ocean ridge system of the Indian Ocean and on the arc-backarc systems of the Southern Mariana Trough and Okinawa Trough.


Chemosynthesis Global Biogeochemic Cycle Hydrothermal Activity and Water-rock Linkage between biosphere, hydrosphere and lithosphere Subseafloor Biosphere

Editors and affiliations

  • Jun-ichiro Ishibashi
    • 1
  • Kyoko Okino
    • 2
  • Michinari Sunamura
    • 3
  1. 1.Department of Earth and Planetary Science, Faculty of SciencesKyushu UniversityHakataJapan
  2. 2.The University of TokyoTokyoJapan
  3. 3.The University of TokyoTokyoJapan

Bibliographic information

  • DOI
  • Copyright Information The Editor(s) (if applicable) and the Author(s) 2015
  • Publisher Name Springer, Tokyo
  • eBook Packages Earth and Environmental Science
  • Print ISBN 978-4-431-54864-5
  • Online ISBN 978-4-431-54865-2
  • About this book