Reference work entry

Structure of Higher Education System


Higher education is mainly provided at T.A. Marryshow Community College, which hosts an online campus of the University of the West Indies, and St George’s University, a private institution specialising in Medicine.

Stages of studies

University level first stage

Bachelor’s degree

The Bachelor’s degree is awarded after four years’ study.

University level second stage

Master’s degree; Medical Doctor Degree

The Master’s degree is awarded after one year’s study and the Medical Doctor degree after four years’ study following upon a Bachelor’s degree.

National Bodies

Ministry of Education, Human Resource Development and The Environment

Minister: Anthony Boatswain

Permanent Secretary: Ruth Rouse

Ministry of Education Building, Botanical Gardens

St George

Tel: +473 440 2737

Fax: +473 440 6650


Data for academic year:


Source: IAU from MOE website, 2014. Bodies 2017.

Open image in new window

St George’s University

University Centre

True Blue Bay


President and Chief Executive Officer: G. Richard Olds


Medicine (Medicine); Veterinary Science (Veterinary Science)

History: Created 1976 as a School of Medicine.

Main language(s) of instruction: English

Degrees and diplomas: Doctor of Medicine (Medicine; Veterinary Science), Master’s Degree (Medicine; Veterinary Science)

Last Update: 16-02-2017

Copyright information

© International Association of Universities 2019

Personalised recommendations