Reference work entry

Structure of Higher Education System


There are public and private state-recognized institutions of higher education categorized as: 1. universities (Universitäten) and equivalent higher education institutions (Technische Hochschulen/Technische Universitäten, Pädagogische Hochschulen); 2. colleges of art and music (Kunsthochschulen and Musikhochschulen); 3. Fachhochschulen (universities of applied sciences) and Verwaltungsfachhochschulen.

Stages of studies

University level first stage

Bachelor’s level

Degrees at Bachelor’s level qualify graduates to apply for Master’s degrees. They are awarded in 3, 3 1/2, or 4 years’ full time study or 180, 210 or 240 ECTS credits.

University level second stage

Master’s level

Degrees at Master’s level are of several types: practice-oriented, research-oriented, artistic profile, and teaching career profile. They lasts between 1 and 2 years’ study or 60, 90, or 120 ECTS credits. All degrees quality graduates to apply for a Doctorate.


Copyright information

© International Association of Universities 2019

Personalised recommendations