Faroe Islands

Reference work entry

Structure of Higher Education System


Higher education comprises a university sector and a college sector, i.e. the professionally-oriented higher education sector. The university sector includes 1 university. The university sector offers programmes at three levels: Bachelor's Degree (3 years of study), Master's Degree (normally 2 years following the Bachelor's Degree) and the PhD Degree (normally 3 years' study after the Master´s Degree). Study programmes of the university sector are research based. The college sector comprises specialized institutions of higher education offering professionally oriented programmes. The University of the Faroe Islands is publicly financed and state regulated. The University must follow national legislation concerning degree structures, teacher qualifications and examinations, including a system of external examiners. A nationally established – fully independent – evaluation panel assures the quality and the relevance of higher education...

Copyright information

© International Association of Universities 2019

Personalised recommendations