Reference work entry

Structure of Higher Education System


Higher education falls under the responsibility of the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research. The introduction of the three-tier system (LMD) in the 2004-2005 academic year has become generalised, although two systems (traditional and LMD) run concurrently, with traditional degrees still being awarded in medicine, pharmacy, dentistry, and veterinary medicine, as well as teacher training, and architecture.

Stages of studies

University level first stage

At undergraduate level, higher education is divided into a short (three-year) cycle, leading to a Diplôme d’Etudes universitaires appliquées (DEUA), and a long (four- to seven-year) cycle, leading to the Licence, the Diplôme d’Etudes supérieures, the Diplôme d’Ingénieur or the Diplôme de Docteur. Courses for the Diplôme in Engineering, Dental Surgery, Pharmacy, Architecture and Veterinary Medicine last for five years while the title of Doctor in Medicine is awarded after...

Copyright information

© International Association of Universities 2019

Personalised recommendations