Burkina Faso

Reference work entry

Structure of Higher Education System


Higher education is provided by universities and several higher education institutions, both public and private, the latter since 2004. Public universities are autonomous institutions under the jurisdiction of the Ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur de la Recherche scientifique et de l’Innovation. The Université Polytechnique de Bobo-Dioulasso was established in 1997 from the Centre universitaire Polytechnique de Bobo-Dioulasso, itself created in 1996 following the transfer of the Institut universitaire de Technologie, the Institut de Développement rural and the Ecole supérieure d’Informatique to Bobo-Dioulasso. The Université de Koudougou was established in 2005 from the Ecole Normale Supérieure de Koudougou, created in 1996 subsequent to the transfer of the the Institut des Sciences de l’Education to Koudougou. The three-tier LMD system has been officially adopted and currently institutions are operating this new system side-by-side...

Copyright information

© International Association of Universities 2019

Personalised recommendations