Reference work entry

Structure of Higher Education System


Higher education is provided by public and private universities, institutes and colleges.

Stages of studies

University level first stage

Bachelor's degree

A general Bachelor's degree programme lasts for 4 years mainly in Humanities, Social Studies, Education and Teacher Training. An additional year is needed to continue for an Honours degree.

University level second stage

Higher diploma/ Master's degree

A postgraduate diploma is offered in certain disciplines following one year of study after the Bachelor's degree. A Master's degree by course work is offered after 1 to 2 years of study involving a dissertation and a Master's degree by research follows 2 to 3 years of study and requires a thesis.

University level third stage

Doctor of Philosophy

The PhD is offered after at least three years' study following the Master's Degree and requires individual research work and the presentation of a thesis.

Admission to Higher Education


Copyright information

© International Association of Universities 2019

Personalised recommendations