Reference work entry

Structure of Higher Education System


Higher education is provided by both public and private universities. Universities are divided into facultades universitarias, escuelas técnicas superiores, escuelas universitarias, institutos universitarios, and other centres, notably the centros de estudios superiores and the colegios universitarios. The Consejo de Universidades (where the Ministry and the universities are represented) constitutes an advisory board on academic matters. The legislation on university autonomy provides for administrative, academic and financial autonomy.

Stages of studies

University level first stage


These three- to four-year (180-240 ECTS) courses have a professional orientation and are concluded with a trabajo de fin de Grado (a graduation paper). After completion of the programme students are awarded the Título de Graduado. Studies are formally grouped around the following areas of knowledge: arts and humanities, science, health-care sciences,...

Copyright information

© International Association of Universities 2019

Personalised recommendations