Slovak Republic

Reference work entry

Structure of Higher Education System


Higher education institutions are legal entities. They include public, state and private higher education institutions. They provide higher education within the framework of accredited study programmes. According to Law No 131/2002 of 21 February on Higher Education, they provide higher education at three levels. The first level leads to the degree of Bakalár; the second level, complete higher education, leads to the academic degrees of Magister, Inžinier, Doktor lekárstva; and the third level leads to the Doctorate/PhD.

Stages of studies

University level first stage

Bakalárske štúdium (Bachelor studies).

Bachelor study programmes aim at the acquisition of theoretical and practical knowledge based on the current state of science and art, and at mastering their use in exercising a profession or in following-up higher education studies. The first stage usually lasts for three or four years, covering all disciplines except Medicine. After...

Copyright information

© International Association of Universities 2019

Personalised recommendations