Reference work entry

Structure of Higher Education System


Public higher education is provided principally by the Université de Nouakchott Al Aasriya (formerly known as Université de Nouakchott) and follows the three-tier LMD system. There are several other higher education institutions, including some private higher education providers which were allowed in 2009, but which have still to be recognized by the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research. Some institutions fall under the responsibility of other ministries, such as le Ministère des Affaires Islamiques et de l’Enseignement originel (Ministry of Islamic Affairs and Religious Education) and le Ministère de l’Emploi et de la Formation professionnelle (Ministry of Employment and Vocational Training).

Stages of studies

University level first stage


The first stage of higher education leads to the Licence after three years’ university study. Institutions may offer Licences fondamentales (academically-oriented degrees) or...

Copyright information

© International Association of Universities 2019

Personalised recommendations