Reference work entry

Structure of Higher Education System


Higher education is provided by public universities and private higher education institutions. The new three-tier LMD system was acted in 2008 and has now become generalised throughout the higher education system.

Stages of studies

University level first stage


First stage of university studies lasts three years, or six semesters, and students are awarded the Licence under the recently-established LMD system.

University level second stage


The Master is awarded two years, or four semesters, after the Licence.

University level third stage


A Doctorat is offered after a further three years and a thesis, following the Master.

Admission to Higher Education

Admission to university-level studies

Name of Secondary school credential required: Baccalauréat

Name of Secondary school credential required: Baccalauréat technique

National Bodies

Ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche scientifique


Copyright information

© International Association of Universities 2019

Personalised recommendations