Reference work entry

Structure of Higher Education System


Higher education is provided by universities, academies, institutes, and other institutions, most of them are state-run but there are also several private institutions, as well as several branches of overseas insitutitons. The Ministry of Education and Science is responsible for formulating and implementing the national education policy.

Stages of studies

University level first stage

Bakalavr, Specialist

The first stage of university studies leads to a Bachelor’s degree after four years’ study or to a Specialist degree after five years’ study (6 in Medicine).

University level second stage


The second stage leads to a Master’s degree after two year’s further study following upon a Bachelor’s degree.

University level third stage

Aspirantura, Doctorontura

Aspirantura (Candidate of Science) is conferred after a further three years’ study beyond the Master’s degree or the Specialist degree and the Doctorontura (Doctor of Science) after...

Copyright information

© International Association of Universities 2019

Personalised recommendations