Enkhbold, Miyegombo (Mongolia)

Reference work entry


Miyegombo Enkhbold succeeded Tsakhiagiin Elbegdorj as prime minister of Mongolia in Jan. 2006, ending two weeks of political crisis. A former mayor of the capital, Ulan Bator, he was also chairman of the Mongolian People’s Revolutionary Party (MPRP). In Nov. 2007 Enkhbold lost his position as prime minister to Sanjaagiin Bayar.

Early Life

Miyegombo Enkhbold was born on 19 July 1964 in Ulan Bator. Graduating from the Mongolia State University with a degree in economics in 1987, he was employed as an economist in the capital’s executive administration and in 1989 joined the staff of the ministry of communal economy and services. In 1990 Mongolia embraced democratic reforms, legalizing political parties and approving the transition to a market economy. Enkhbold joined the ruling MPRP while it was being remoulded into a centre-left party. Having led the premises and services department of Ulan Bator’s executive administration during 1991, Enkhbold was appointed deputy governor of the capital’s Chingeltei district, a post he held for 4 years. In 1996 he attended a course in state administration and management with the Japanese government’s international co-operation agency. The following year he became chairman of the MPRP’s committee in Ulan Bator and a member of the party’s Little Hural (the successor to the MPRP Central Committee from 1992).

Enkhbold became Ulan Bator’s mayor in Jan. 1999 and was reappointed in Oct. 2000. He was elected a member of the MPRP’s leadership council in March 2001. As mayor, Enkhbold oversaw the introduction of controversial land privatization laws in the capital, which came into force in 2003. In Aug. 2005, Enkhbold was elected to represent Ulan Bator’s constituency #65 in the Great Hural (parliament) and became chairman of the MPRP.

Mongolia was gripped by crisis in Jan. 2006 when the MPRP withdrew from the governing coalition with the Democratic Party. Enkhbold blamed the Democratic Party prime minister, Tsakhiagiin Elbegdorj, who had overseen rising inflation and a slowdown in economic growth, although members of the Democratic Party claimed the walk-out was because alleged corruption by the MPRP was about to be discussed by parliament. The crisis triggered mass anti-corruption demonstrations, with protesters attempting to storm the MPRP’s headquarters in Ulan Bator. Enkhbold’s nomination to succeed Elbegdorj was approved by the president, Nambaryn Enkhbayar, and on 25 Jan. 2006 he won 85% support from parliament and duly became prime minister.

Career Peak

Enkhbold formed a ‘government of national unity’. including several minor parties, which was approved by parliament on 27 Jan. 2006. The MPRP retained ten out of 17 cabinet seats and Enkhbold promised to focus on speeding up economic development and tackling poverty. In Oct. 2006 he survived a parliamentary vote of no confidence following allegations of government corruption and misconduct.

In Oct. 2007 Enkhbold was pressed to resign by party peers frustrated by a weak government and a general loss of confidence in the MPRP. He lost his position as chairman to former secretary general Sanjaagiin Bayar, who promised to reform the once-communist ruling MPRP and to eradicate corruption. The MPRP delegates also voted for the creation of a new government by Bayar and passed a resolution that the prime minister and the party chairman be the same person. Enkhbold submitted his resignation to parliament on 5 Nov. 2007 and left office when Bayar was elected on 22 Nov.


Enkhbold served as deputy prime minister in the Bayar government from 2007–09.

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Limited 2019

Personalised recommendations