Marshall Islands

Republic of the Marshall Islands
Reference work entry


  • Capital: Majuro

  • Population estimate, 2015: 53,000

  • GNI per capita, 2014: (PPP$) 4,674

  • Internet domain extension: .mh

Civil Aviation

There were two international airports and 30 airfields on 24 atolls and islands in 2004. The main airport is Majuro International. In 2017 there were flights to Guam, Honolulu, Kiribati, Micronesia and Nauru as well as domestic services. The national carrier is Air Marshall Islands.


Hot and humid, with wet season from May to Nov. The islands border the typhoon belt. Jaluit, Jan. 81 °F (27.2 °C), July 82 °F (27.8 °C). Annual rainfall 161″ (4,034 mm).

Constitution and Government

Under the constitution which came into force on 1 May 1979, the Marshall Islands form a republic with a President as head of state and government, who is elected for 4-year terms by the parliament. The parliament consists of a 33-member House of Assembly (Nitijela), directly elected by popular vote for 4-year terms. There is also a 12-member appointed Council of...

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Limited 2019

Personalised recommendations