Tokyo, Japan

Reference work entry


Tokyo, Japan’s capital, is in the Southern Kantō area bordered by the Saitama prefecture to the North, the Tamagawa River and Kanagawa river to the South, the Edogawa River and Chiba prefecture to the East and by the Yamanishi prefecture to the West. Tokyo has 23 administrative centres or ‘ku’. The 23 ku system, adopted in 1949, is the basis of Tokyo’s self government. The Greater Tokyo Metropolitan area consists of Saitama, Kanagawa and Chiba prefectures.


Tokyo was first a small village called Edo in the twelfth century. In 1457, a castle was built in Edo which was later taken by the first of the Tokugawa Shoguns, Ieyasu in 1590. Japan adopted and enforced the policy of national seclusion until the arrival of the US Commodore Matthew C. Perry to Tokyo Bay in 1854.

Tokyo has been the administrative centre of Japan since the early years of the seventeenth century but only became the official capital in 1868 under the Meiji Restoration when the Emperor Meiji moved...

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Limited 2019

Personalised recommendations