Manchester, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Reference work entry


Greater Manchester, once part of Lancashire, includes the city of Manchester, Salford, and the boroughs of Bolton, Bury, Oldham, Rochdale, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford and Wigan. Rising to prominence during the Industrial Revolution, Manchester is now an important commercial and media centre.


In AD 79 the Romans established a fort at the confluence of the rivers Irwell and Medlock and the town became a meeting place for seven Roman roads. In AD 919 the Saxon king Edward the Elder repaired what was left of the Roman fort to use as a defence against the invading Danes and there is a mention of a Parish church in the Domesday book in 1086. Medieval Manchester seemed destined to remain in the shadow of the larger town of Salford but in 1421 a college of priests was established. The church school that was founded in 1506 became the Manchester Grammar School in 1515. In the fourteenth century local weaving was stimulated by immigrant Flemish weavers. It was at this time...

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Limited 2019

Personalised recommendations