National Wetland Policy: Taiwan

  • Terence Lee
Reference work entry


Taiwan is an island located to the west of the Pacific Ocean and the southeast edge of Mainland China. Taiwan has a total area of 36,192 km2. However, as much of the land comprises hills and mountains, only less than 40% of this land area is suitable for farming, industrial, urban, and rural development. Nevertheless, Taiwan is host to a diversity of types of wetlands including high-mountain lake and other natural ponds, fishponds and irrigation systems, creeks, and rivers, in addition to coastal mudflats, marshes, lagoons, and mangroves. These different types of wetlands form a network of ecological corridors across Taiwan. Politically, a complexity arises in that sovereignty of the islands is contested, though it is generally recognized as being part of the Republic of China. The Wetland Conservation Act (WCA), announced by the President Order on July 3, 2013, is the foundation of wetland management in Taiwan. Beside the regulations, the policies and actions of conserving wetland follow the guidance of “Taiwan’s Wetlands of Importance Conservation Program (2011–2016)” that are based on the principle of wise use under the Ramsar Convention.


Taiwan Typhoons Paddies Wetland Conservation Act WCA Development Pollution Green Belt 


  1. Wetland Conservation Act (WCA). Accessed 29 Apr 2014.

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media B.V., part of Springer Nature 2018

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Ministry of the Interior, Construction and Planning AgencyTaiwanRepublic of China

Personalised recommendations