Encyclopedia of Parasitology

Living Edition
| Editors: Heinz Mehlhorn

Echinococcus granulosus Genotypes

  • Heinz Mehlhorn
Living reference work entry
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-642-27769-6_4741-1
The described species E. granulosus is subdivided into 10 genotypes (G1-10). Three of them have already obtained the status of an own species.
  • G4 = E. equinus in horses as intermediate hosts.

  • G5 = E. ortleppi in cattle as intermediate hosts.

  • G7 = E. canadensis in pigs as intermediate hosts.


Intermediate Host Echinococcus Granulosus 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 2015

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Institut für Zoomorphologie, Zellbiologie und ParasitologieHeinrich-Heine-UniversitätDüsseldorfGermany