Encyclopedia of Neuroscience

2009 Edition
| Editors: Marc D. Binder, Nobutaka Hirokawa, Uwe Windhorst

Cranial Nerves

Reference work entry
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-540-29678-2_1315


Nn. Craniales


The cranial nerves are those nerves originating in the brainstem (midbrain, pons, and medulla) with the exception of the first and second cranial nerves, which are not true peripheral nerves but rather are fiber tracts of the brain. The 12 cranial nerves can be divided into sensory, motor or mixed nerves. Cranial nerves VII and IX carry parasympathetic innervation to the salivary glands.
  • Olfactory nerve (I)

  • Optic nerve (II)

  • Oculomotor nerve (III)

  • Trochlear nerve (IV)

  • Trigeminal nerve (V)

  • Abducens nerve (VI)

  • Facial nerve (VII)

  • Vestibulocochlear nerve (VIII)

  • Glossopharyngeal nerve (IX)

  • Vagus nerve (X)

  • Accessory nerve (XI)

  • Hypoglossal nerve (XII)

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag GmbH Berlin Heidelberg 2009