Encyclopedia of Personality and Individual Differences

Living Edition
| Editors: Virgil Zeigler-Hill, Todd K. Shackelford

European Association of Personality Psychology

  • Jaap J. A. Denissen
  • John F. RauthmannEmail author
  • Mitja D. Back
Living reference work entry
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-28099-8_2311-1

European Association of Personality Psychology (EAPP)

The European Association of Personality Psychology (EAPP) is a scientific association of personality psychologists from Europe and beyond. As of December 2018, there are 250 active members from various countries, primarily from Europe but also beyond (e.g., USA, Canada). More information can be found at https://eapp.org/.

Purpose and Activities

The purpose of the EAPP is the promotion and development of empirical and theoretical personality psychology within Europe and the interchange of information between members of the EAPP and other scientific associations throughout the world (e.g., ARP, SPSP, ISSID, etc.). The EAPP pursues the following activities:
  • Organization of meetings and conferences

    EAPP is the organizer of the European Conference of Personality (ECP), which is held in a different European city every 2 years. In addition, EAPP regularly organizes expert meetings, workshops, and summer schools devoted to specific substantive, methodological, and statistical topics.

  • Promotion of mutual scientific communication and research cooperation between members and other scientists

    Members of EAPP receive regular newsletters and calls for special issues, symposia, or meetings. Cooperation between scientists is further encouraged through meetings funded by the EAPP. To recognize scientific accomplishments, EAPP has established awards for all career stages (travel stipends, ECP Poster Awards, Early Career Award, Early Achievement Award, Mid-Career Award, Lifetime Achievement Award).

  • Publication of manuscripts

    The EAPP publishes the European Journal of Personality (EJP), which has become a flagship journal in the area of personality psychology.

  • Cooperation with other associations and institutions within and outside Europe

    There are regular contacts with other associations, such as the Association for Research in Personality (ARP) in the USA.

Current Status and Structure of the EAPP

The EAPP is governed by an executive committee that consists of seven to nine elected members, not including the editor of the European Journal of Personality and the organizer of the next European Conference of Personality (both are ex officio members). As of 2018, Jaap Denissen is the acting president of EAPP (2018–2020) and will be succeeded by president-elect Anu Realo. John Rauthmann is treasurer, and Anna Baumert is secretary. Only researchers with a background in scientific psychology can become members of EAPP, for which they can apply with the support of two current members.

History of the EAPP


The EAPP was preceded by the organization of the European Conference on Personality, held in Tilburg (NL), May 17–19, 1982. During that conference it was agreed that a European Association of Personality Psychology (EAPP) should be founded during the second European Conference on Personality. Subsequently, the EAPP was founded in Bielefeld on May 19, 1984, during a plenary session, where the first executive committee was elected and where all the attendants could register as founding members. The EAPP was notarially established in Groningen (NL), on September 6, 1984.

Past Presidents

Jan Strelau (Warsaw University) served as its first president between 1984 and 1988. Subsequent presidents have served for 2 years, in order of appointment: Alois Angleitner, Gian Vittorio Caprara, Wim Hofstee, Lars Nystedt, Jose Bermudez, Ivan Mervielde, Sarah Hampson, Andrzej Eliasz, Rainer Riemann, Boele de Raad, Frosso Motti-Stefanidi, Jens Asendorpf, Marco Perugini, Filip de Fruyt, and Jérôme Rossier.

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Switzerland AG 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  • Jaap J. A. Denissen
    • 1
  • John F. Rauthmann
    • 2
    Email author
  • Mitja D. Back
    • 3
  1. 1.Universiteit TilburgTilburgThe Netherlands
  2. 2.Universität zu LübeckLübeckGermany
  3. 3.Universität MünsterMünsterGermany

Section editors and affiliations

  • Virgil Zeigler-Hill
    • 1
  1. 1.Oakland UniversityRochesterUSA