The Eastern Arctic Seas Encyclopedia

2016 Edition
| Editors: Igor S. Zonn, Andrey G. Kostianoy, Aleksandr V. Semenov


Reference work entry
  1. 1.

    An island located in the Lena River Delta, the Sakha Republic (Yakutia), Russia. In the course of the first International Polar Year (1882–1883), a polar station headed by N. Yurgens, a Naval Masters Corps lieutenant, was arranged on the southern bank of the island and was operating from August 31, 1883 to June 19, 1884. Wide-scale observations in meteorology, geophysics, botany, and zoology were made. A thorough topographic survey of the Lena Delta was undertaken. During the second IPY (1932–1933), a polar station was located there as well.

  2. 2.

    (Former Tumat) a settlement located on the northern edge of the Lena Delta, neglected in the former decades. This is a place of history: in 1881, the first Russian meteorological station, where N. D. Yurgens and A. A. Bunge were making observations in 1881–1883, was established there. At present this territory is a protective zone of a nature reserve, which is used for licensed fishing by workers of the Yakutia’s only collective farm “Arktika.”


Copyright information

© Springer International Publishing Switzerland 2016