The Eastern Arctic Seas Encyclopedia

2016 Edition
| Editors: Igor S. Zonn, Andrey G. Kostianoy, Aleksandr V. Semenov

Arctic Zone of the Russian Federation

Reference work entry

Arctic Zone of the Russian Federation – defined by the decision of the State Committee of the USSR Council of Ministers for the Arctic. This zone includes fully or partially the territories of Murmansk and Arkhangelsk Regions; Taymyr District of Krasnoyarsk Krai, Nenets, Yamalo-Nenets, and Chukotka Autonomous Areas; the Sakha Republic (Yakutia); and lands and islands listed in the Central Executive Committee and the Council of People’s Commissars of the Soviet Union resolution on April 15, 1926, “On declaring lands and islands situated in the Arctic Ocean the territory of the USSR,” domestic waters, and the closed sea that are adjacent to the northern coast of the Russian Federation.

Copyright information

© Springer International Publishing Switzerland 2016