The Eastern Arctic Seas Encyclopedia

2016 Edition
| Editors: Igor S. Zonn, Andrey G. Kostianoy, Aleksandr V. Semenov

“International Polar Year”

Reference work entry

“International Polar Year” – a series of books, published in Russian by the publishing house “Paulsen.” It includes, on the one hand, the basic works and, on the other hand, diaries and regional works, which became classics during the life of the authors, but not published for a long time. All these works are related to the same “lodestar” – the Arctic. Among the published books, there are the Encyclopedia of North (2005); To the South, to Franz Josef Land by V. Albanov (2007); Zavolochye by B. Pilnyak (2007); The Papanin Foursome: Ups and Downs by Yu. Burlakov (2007); The Depth of 4261 Meters by F. Paulsen, A. Chilingarov, and M. MacDowel (2007); The Russian Arctic Sea by V. Vize (2008); The Icebreaking Fleet of Russia in 1860–1918 by V. G. Andrienko (2010); The Icebreaker Lenin, The First Nuclear One by V. Blinov (2010); People’s Enemies Behind the Arctic Circle by S. A. Larkov and F. A. Romanenko (2010); Polar Diaries of a Member of Secret Arctic Expeditions of 1949–1955 by V. Volovich (2011); Polar Aviation of Russia in 1914–1945 by A. Pochtarev and L. Gorbunova, Book 1 (2011); and Winter Soldiers by I. A. Zotikov (2011).

Copyright information

© Springer International Publishing Switzerland 2016