The Eastern Arctic Seas Encyclopedia

2016 Edition
| Editors: Igor S. Zonn, Andrey G. Kostianoy, Aleksandr V. Semenov

International Arctic Science Committee (IASC)

Reference work entry

International Arctic Science Committee (IASC) – a nongovernmental international organization founded in 1990 by representatives of eight Arctic countries – Denmark (Greenland), Iceland, Canada, Norway, Russia, the USA, Finland, and Sweden – for cooperation on various aspects of research in the Arctic. Currently, scientific organizations and groups from 19 to 23 countries – England, Germany, Denmark (Greenland), Finland, France, Italy, Canada, China, Republic of Korea, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Russia, the USA, Finland, Sweden, Switzerland, Japan, Austria, Czech Republic, Spain, Iceland and India – are involved in the IASC activities studying the Arctic regions and their role in the development of the Earth. Geographically, the area of interest of the IASC is the Arctic Ocean and adjacent parts of the land. Research projects of the Committee include, among other problems, issues of biological diversity in the Arctic ecosystems, Arctic hydrology, glaciology and ecology of the Arctic sea transport routes, and the life of the indigenous people of the Arctic (Inuit, Chukchi, Sami, Aleuts, and others). The decision-making body of the IASC is the Council, composed of representatives of all the Committee members (Russia is represented by the Academy of Sciences), which elects the president of the organization who heads its activities between the annual sessions of the Council. The IASC Secretariat is located in Potsdam, Germany.

Copyright information

© Springer International Publishing Switzerland 2016