The Eastern Arctic Seas Encyclopedia

2016 Edition
| Editors: Igor S. Zonn, Andrey G. Kostianoy, Aleksandr V. Semenov

Dunay Islands

Reference work entry

Dunay Islands – a group of islands (archipelago) in the Laptev Sea which lie in the northern part of the Lena mouth and belong to Yakutia. Dunay Islands include Egorsha, Lepeyoshkabalyt-Belkee, and Dunay-Aryta. The biggest of them, Dunay-Aryta Island, and all other groups are named after the Yenisei Cossack Konstantin Stepanovich Dunay. In Soviet times, there was a polar station in Dunay-Aryta Island.

Copyright information

© Springer International Publishing Switzerland 2016