Encyclopedia of Latin American Religions

Living Edition
| Editors: Henri Gooren

Islam, Five Pillars

  • Ken ChitwoodEmail author
Living reference work entry

Latest version View entry history

DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-08956-0_257-2


The Five Pillars form the ritual core of Islam. While not uniform in practice across the globe, their features are pervasive enough to elicit definition below with attention paid to some regional idiosyncrasies in the Latin American context.


Islam can be divided into theological, practical, and sociological concerns. The theological aspects of Islam include the so-called Six Articles of Faith (belief in Allah, His angels, His books, His Prophets, the Day of Judgment, and Fate) and their antecedent doctrines. The practical facets of Islam are best defined by the Five Pillars (declaration, prayer, almsgiving, the fast of Ramadan, and pilgrimage to Mecca) along with other general actions and good deeds that a Muslim is required to do. Finally, sociological concerns will include numbers worldwide, community demographics, and issues that the wider Muslim ummah (community) is facing in the twenty-first-century world.

However, when it comes to religious principles and...


Islam Prayer Pilgrimage Fasting Charity Ritual 
This is a preview of subscription content, log in to check access.


  1. Esposito, J (2011) Islam: the straight path. Oxford University PressGoogle Scholar
  2. Haleem, A, trans. (2010) The Qur’an. OxfordGoogle Scholar
  3. Ibrahim I (1997) A brief illustrated guide to Islam, 2nd edn. Darussalam, HoustonGoogle Scholar
  4. Khan A (2015) Islam in the Americas. University of Florida Press, GainesvilleCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. Prothero S (2010) God is not one: the eight rival religions that run the world – and why their differences matter. Harper One, New YorkGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer International Publishing AG, part of Springer Nature 2018

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.University of FloridaGainesvilleUSA