Encyclopedia of the World's Coastal Landforms

2010 Edition
| Editors: Eric C. F. Bird

Victoria: The Gippsland Lakes

Reference work entry
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-1-4020-8639-7_241


The Gippsland Lakes are a large and complex group of coastal lagoons, separated from the sea by broad sandy barriers. They include Lake Wellington (138 sq km; shoreline length 60 km), Lake Victoria (110 sq km; shoreline length just over 100 km), Lake King (92 sq km; shoreline length 160 km), and a number of smaller lagoons associated with extensive swamps on a low-lying depositional coastal plain (Bird 1978).

These lakes are fed by five main rivers, the Latrobe and the Avon flowing into Lake Wellington, the Mitchell, Nicholson, and Tambo into Lake King; and together these drain a catchment of about 20,600 sq km, extending into the Eastern Highlands of Victoria ( Fig. Much of the catchment above the 150 m contour is still forested, but the lower country is mainly grazed or cultivated (irrigated) farmland, with some residual patches of bush and heathland. Here the river valleys are incised into a coastal plateau which borders the southern slopes of the Eastern...
This is a preview of subscription content, log in to check access.


  1. Bird ECF (1978) The geomorphology of the Gippsland Lakes Region. Min­istry for Conservation, Environmental Studies Series, Publication 186Google Scholar
  2. Bird ECF (1983) Shoreline changes in the Gippsland Lakes. Proc R Soc Vic 95:227–235Google Scholar
  3. Bird ECF, Lennon J (1989) Making an entrance: The story of the artificial entrance to the Gippsland Lakes. James Yeates, BairnsdaleGoogle Scholar
  4. Bird ECF, Rosengren NJ (1971) The disappearing Mitchell delta. Proc R Soc Vic 84:189–197Google Scholar
  5. Bryant EA, Price DM (1997) Late pleistocene marine chronology of the Gippsland Lakes region. Aust Phys Geogr 18:318–334Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media B.V. 2010