Pacific Alliance

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

Origin and Aims. The Pacific Alliance was founded in June 2012 through the Pacific Alliance Framework Agreement. The group had informally come together with the signing of the Lima Declaration a year earlier.

Its principal aims are to encourage free trade and economic integration between member states, facilitate freedom of movement and pursue multilateral ties with other regions. A number of jointly-run embassies and consulates have been opened.

Organization. The Alliance holds regular summits attended by heads of member states. This is the leading decision-making body. There is also a Council of Ministers, comprising ministers of foreign affairs and foreign trade, as well as a High-Level Group made up of their deputy ministers.

Membership. In Feb. 2018 there were four members: Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Peru. Costa Rica and Panama were in the process of joining as of Feb. 2018. Countries with observer status in Feb. 2018 were: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Lithuania, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Ukraine, UK, USA, Uruguay.

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations