Caribbean Development Bank (CDB)

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

Established in 1969 by 16 regional and two non-regional members. Membership is open to all states and territories of the region and to non-regional states that are members of the UN or its Specialized Agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency.

Members—regional countries and territories: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands. Other regional countries: Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Venezuela. Non-regional countries: Canada, China, Germany, Italy, United Kingdom.

Function. To contribute to the economic growth and development of the member countries of the Caribbean and promote economic co-operation and integration among them, with particular regard to the needs of the less developed countries.

  • Headquarters: PO Box 408, Wildey, St Michael, Barbados, WI BB11000.

  • Website:

  • Email:

  • President: William Warren Smith (Jamaica).

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations