Agency for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean (OPANAL)

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

The Agency (Organismo para la Proscripción de las Armas Nucleares en la América Latina y el Caribe) was established following the Cuban missile crisis to guarantee implementation of the world’s first Nuclear-Weapon-Free-Zone (NWFZ) in the region. Created by the Treaty of Tlatelolco (1967), OPANAL is an inter-governmental agency responsible for ensuring that the requirements of the Treaty are enforced. OPANAL has played a major role in establishing other NWFZs throughout the world.

Organization. The Agency consists of three main bodies: the General Conference which meets for biennial sessions and special sessions when deemed necessary; the Council of OPANAL consisting of five member states which meet every two months plus special meetings when necessary; and the Secretariat General.

Members of the Treaty. Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela.

  • Headquarters: Calle Milton 61, Colonia Anzures, Delegación Miguel Hidalgo, C. P. 11590, México, D. F., Mexico.

  • Website:

  • Email:

  • Secretary-General: Luiz Filipe de Macedo Soares (Brazil).

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations