Specialized Agencies of the UN

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

The intergovernmental agencies related to the UN by special agreements are separate autonomous organizations which work with the UN and each other through the co-ordinating machinery of the Economic and Social Council. Of these, 19 are ‘Specialized Agencies’ within the terms of the UN Charter, and report annually to ECOSOC.

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)

Origin. In 1943 the International Conference on Food and Agriculture, at Hot Springs, Virginia, set up an Interim Commission, based in Washington, with a remit to establish an organization. Its Constitution was signed on 16 Oct. 1945 in Quebec City. Today, membership totals 194 countries plus one member organization and two associate members. The European Union was made a member as a ‘regional economic integration organization’ in 1991.

Aims and Activities.The aims of FAO are to raise levels of nutrition and standards of living; to improve the production and distribution of all food and agricultural...

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations