Eurasian Economic Union (EEU)

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

The EEU came into being on 1 Jan. 2015 as the successor organization to the Eurasian Economic Community (EurAsEC, founded in 2000). It was established by treaty in May 2014 and provides for the free movement of goods, services, capital and labour across member states.

Membership. As of Feb. 2018 there were five member states: Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Russia.

Organization. The Supreme Council is the highest authority, consisting of the heads of state of the members. There is also an Intergovernmental Council, made up of the heads of government. The Eurasian Economic Commission serves as the permanent regulatory body, charged with supporting the operation and development of the Union and drafting proposals for economic integration. The Court of the EEU seeks to ensure the uniform application of all relevant treaties.

  • Eurasian Economic Commission Headquarters: 2 Letnikovskaya St., Bldg 1/2, Moscow 115114, Russia.

  • Website:

  • Email:

  • Chairman of the Board of the Eurasian Economic Commission: Tigran Sargsyan (Armenia).

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations