Black Sea Economic Cooperation (BSEC)

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

Founded in 1992 to promote economic co-operation in the Black Sea region. Priority areas of interest include: trade and economic development; banking and finance; communications; energy; transport; agriculture and agro-industry; healthcare and pharmaceutics; environmental protection; tourism; science and technology; exchange of statistical data and economic information; combating organized crime, illicit trafficking of drugs, weapons and radioactive materials, all acts of terrorism and illegal immigration.

Members. Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Turkey, Ukraine.

Observers. Austria, Belarus, Black Sea Commission, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, Energy Charter Secretariat, European Commission, France, Germany, International Black Sea Club, Israel, Italy, Poland, Slovakia, Tunisia, USA.

The Parliamentary Assembly of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation is the BSEC parliamentary dimension. The BSEC Business Council is composed of representatives from the business circles of the member states. The Black Sea Trade and Development Bank is considered as the financial pillar of the BSEC. There is also an International Center for Black Sea Studies and a Coordination Center for the Exchange of Statistical Data and Economic Information.

  • Headquarters: Darüssafaka Cad. Seba Center Is Merkezi, No: 45 Kat 3, Istinye, 34460 Sariyer, Istanbul, Turkey.

  • Website:

  • Email:

  • Secretary-General: Michael B. Christides (Greece).

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations