Council of the Baltic Sea States

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

Established in 1992 in Copenhagen following a conference of ministers of foreign affairs.

Members. Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Russia, Sweden and the European Commission.

Aims. To promote co-operation in the Baltic Sea region in the field of trade, investment and economic exchanges, combating organized crime, civil security, culture and education, transport and communication, energy and environment, human rights and assistance to democratic institutions.

The Council meets at ministerial level once a year, chaired by rotating foreign ministers; it is the supreme decision-making body. Between annual sessions the Committee of Senior Officials and three working groups meet at regular intervals. In 1999 ministers of energy of the CBSS member states agreed to achieve the goal of creating effective, economically and environmentally sound and more integrated energy systems in the Baltic Sea region. Nine summits at the level of heads of government of CBSS member states and the President of the European Commission have taken place; in 1996 and then every other year since up to and including 2012. The 2014 CBSS summit was due to be held in Turku, Finland, but was cancelled owing to the Ukraine crisis and the annexation of Crimea by Russia. The Baltic Sea Region Energy Cooperation (BASREC) is made up of energy ministers from the region and is chaired by the energy minister from the chair country of the CBSS.

  • Official language: English.

  • CBSS Secretariat: Strömsborg, PO Box 2010, 103 11 Stockholm, Slussplan 9, Sweden.

  • Website:

  • Email:

    Director General of the Secretariat: Maira Mora (Latvia).

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations