Dictionary of Geotourism

2020 Edition
| Editors: Anze Chen, Young Ng, Erkuang Zhang, Mingzhong Tian

First Group of National-Level Scenic Areas

Reference work entry
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-13-2538-0_711

On November 8, 1982, the State Council announced 44 national-level scenic areas, including the Five Great Mountains, namely, the North Great Mountain (Hengshan), the East Great Mountain (Taishan), the Central Great Mountain (Songshan), the South Great Mountain (Mount Heng) and the West Great Mountain (Huanshan). The 11 scenic areas, namely, Badaling and the Thirteen Tombs of the Ming Dynasty, Chengde Mountain Resort and its outlying temples, Wuyishan, Lushan, Taishan, Longmen Grottoes (Luoyang), Wudangshan, Emeishan, Huanglong Temple-Jiuzhaigou, Qingchengshan-Dujiangyan and the Stone Forest, were added to the World Heritage List by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) between 1987 and 2007. Eight scenic areas, namely, Jingpohu, Wudalianchi, Yandangshan, Lushan, Taishan, Songshan and the Stone Forest, were designated as global geoparks by UNESCO between 2004 and 2006.

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Singapore Pte Ltd. 2020