Dictionary of Geotourism

2020 Edition
| Editors: Anze Chen, Young Ng, Erkuang Zhang, Mingzhong Tian

Devonian Period

Reference work entry
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-13-2538-0_503

The Devonian Period is the fourth period of the Palaeozoic Era, and it extended from 416 to 359 million years ago, a duration of 57 million years. It was named after Devonshire in southwest England. The Chinese words ‘Nipen (Mud Basin)’ came from the original Japanese translation. The Devonian Period was the time when the organisms began to occupy the continents, and terrestrial plants and freshwater fish began to flourish. Therefore, the Devonian Period is also known as the ‘period of fish’. The Devonian System includes the rocks that were formed during the Devonian Period. The first international stratigraphic boundary (i.e., the GSSP for the Silurian Period and Devonian Period) is located in Klonk Village, Prague, Czech Republic. Internationally, the Devonian System is generally divided into three series and seven stages. Guangxi Province and Hunan Province have long been areas of study and also contain three series and seven stages. The Upper Devonian quartz sandstone is the base...

This is a preview of subscription content, log in to check access.

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Singapore Pte Ltd. 2020