Dictionary of Geotourism

2020 Edition
| Editors: Anze Chen, Young Ng, Erkuang Zhang, Mingzhong Tian

Yu Gong (The Tribute of Emperor Yu)

Reference work entry
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-13-2538-0_2890

This book was the earliest regional geographic work in China and is one of the chapters of the Confucian classic ‘Shang Shu’ (Book of Documents). The author is unknown, and it is estimated to have been written in the late Warring States Period (approximately 200 BC). The book has 1,193 characters and is divided into five parts: Nine Provinces, Mountain Ranges, River Systems, Water Works and Five Uniformities. According to the respective natural conditions, the book uses the regional research approach to divide the entire territory into nine provinces: Ji, Yan, Qing, Xu, Yang, Jing, Yu, Liang and Yong. The mountain ranges, rivers, lakes, soils, minerals and transportation of each province are described. The book has important reference value for understanding the geographical, economic and social conditions of China in the pre-Qin period. It is the earliest regional geography masterpiece in China and is regarded as a pioneering work of Chinese geography.

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Singapore Pte Ltd. 2020