Dictionary of Geotourism

2020 Edition
| Editors: Anze Chen, Young Ng, Erkuang Zhang, Mingzhong Tian

Central Orogenic Belt in China

Reference work entry
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-13-2538-0_272

This belt is an extensive east-west-trending tectonic zone in central China. Its name was first proposed by Jiang Chunfa in 1993. The belt includes five orogenic belts: West Kunlun, East Kunlun, West Qinling Mountain, East Qinling Mountain and Dabie Mountain. Jiang Chunfa et al. (2000) suggested that the Central Orogenic Belt can be divided into northern, central and southern subduction belts, which belong to the Palaeo-Asian tectonic domain and the Tethyan tectonic domain, respectively.

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Singapore Pte Ltd. 2020