Dictionary of Geotourism

2020 Edition
| Editors: Anze Chen, Young Ng, Erkuang Zhang, Mingzhong Tian

Time Zone

Reference work entry
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-13-2538-0_2489

The 1884 International Meridian Conference divided the globe into 24 time zones, each of which covers 15° of longitude. The time zone with the central meridian is the zero time zone. The east and west are each divided into twelve different time zones, and the 12th east and west time zones are half time zones that share 180° longitude. When travelling, it is convenient to adjust clocks to the local time by determining the time zone in which the destination is located.

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Singapore Pte Ltd. 2020