Higher Education Systems and Institutions, Central African Republic

  • Georgette Florence Koyt-DeballéEmail author
Living reference work entry
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-94-017-9553-1_443-1

General Setting

The Central African Republic was part of the French African colonies. It is geographically surrounded by the Republic of Chad in the north, The Republic of Cameroon in the west, The Republic of Congo (Brazzaville) and the Democratic Republic of Congo in the south, and the two Sudans in the east. It was formerly called Ubangi-Chari and was declared a republic by the president Barthelemy BOGANDA on December 1, 1958, who changed the name of the country to Central African Republic (CAR). It became officially independent from France on August 13, 1960. The last census was held in 2003 and the different projections estimate that in 2018 the population was of 5,745,135 inhabitants. The country spreads over 622,984 km2 so the population density is of 9.22/km2.

Higher education in the Central African Republic took place in Brazzaville or in France, but since 1969, it is governed by the Decree on the organization and functioning of the Ministry of National Education. It is...

This is a preview of subscription content, log in to check access.


  1. Arrêté n° 003/PM/CAB.07 du 16 janvier 2007 portant création, attributions, composition et modalités de fonctionnement des organes chargés de la mise en place et du suivi du système “Licence, Master, Doctorat” (LMD).Google Scholar
  2. Arrêté N° 094/MENAESR/CAB/UB 04 u 26 novembre 2004 Portant organisation de la thèse de doctorat et de l’habilitation à diriger des recherches.Google Scholar
  3. Arrêté N° 102/MENAESR/CAB/UB 04 du 6 décembre 2004 Portant création des diplômes de masters à l’Université de Bangui.Google Scholar
  4. Décret No. 85.264 du 22 Août 1985 portant Statuts de l’Université de Bangui.Google Scholar
  5. Directions des Evaluations et des Archives (B.E.P.A), Annuaires statistiques de 2016. Accessed on 8 Nov 2018.Google Scholar
  6. Ordonnance No. 69.063 du 12 Novembre 1969 portant création de l’Université de Bangui.Google Scholar
  7. Regional Convention on the Recognition of Studies, Certificates, Diplomas, Degrees and other Academic Qualifications in Higher Education in the African States. Arusha, 5 December 1981. Ratified by Central African Republic (CAR) on 01 July 2008. This convention has been revised on December 2014 and was signed by on 12 December 2014.Google Scholar
  8. Selezilo, A. 2015. LMD et réformes de l’enseignement en zone CEMAC. Cas de Centrafrique. Paris: Edilivre, 123p.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer Nature B.V. 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.University of BanguiBanguiCentral African Republic

Section editors and affiliations

  • Goolam Mohamedbhai
    • 1
  • Patricio Langa
    • 2
  1. 1.Rose-HillMauritius
  2. 2.Centre for Adult and Continuing EducationUniversity of the Western CapeCape TownSouth Africa