Reference Work Entry

Encyclopedia of Cancer

pp 1960-1960


Kreyberg Type I and II


Formerly, cases of lung cancer were divided into two broad categories based on the relationship between smoking and lung cancer risk, Kreyberg type I and II. The Kreyberg type I lung cancer (smoking-related) included squamous cell carcinoma, large cell carcinoma and small cell carcinoma, while the Kreyberg type II lung cancer (less smoking-related or smoking-unrelated) included adenocarcinoma. Currently, the two main groups are small cell lung cancer (SCLC) and non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC).

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 2011
Show all