Latin American Economic System (SELA)

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

Established in 1975 by the Panama Convention, SELA (Sistema Económico Latinoamericano) promotes co-ordination on economic issues and social development among the countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.

Members. Argentina, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela.

  • Official languages: English, French, Portuguese and Spanish.

  • Headquarters: Torre Europa, Pisos 4 y 5, Avenida Francisco de Miranda, Urb. Campo Alegre, Caracas 1060, Venezuela.

  • Website:

  • Permanent Secretary: Javier Paulinich Velarde (Peru).

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations