West African Economic and Monetary Union (UEMOA)

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

Founded in 1994, the UEMOA (Union Economique et Monétaire Ouest Africaine) aims to reinforce the competitiveness of the economic and financial activities of member states in the context of an open and rival market and a rationalized and harmonized juridical environment; to ensure the convergence of the macroeconomic performances and policies of member states; to create a common market among member states; to co-ordinate the national sector-based policies; and to harmonize the legislation, especially the fiscal system, of the member states.

Members. Benin, Burkina Faso, Central Bank of West African States, Côte d’Ivoire, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal, Togo.

  • Headquarters: 380 avenue Professeur Joseph Ki-Zerbo, 01 BP 543, Ouagadougou 01, Burkina Faso.

  • Website (French only):

  • Email:

  • President: Abdallah Boureima (Nigeria).

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations