Southern African Customs Union (SACU)

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

Established by the Customs Union Convention between the British Colony of Cape of Good Hope and the Orange Free State Boer Republic in 1889, the Southern African Customs Union was extended in 1910 to include the then Union of South Africa and British High Commission Territories in Africa and remained unchanged after these countries gained independence. South Africa was the dominant member with sole-decision making power over customs and excise policies until the 2002 SACU Agreement which created a permanent Secretariat, a Council of Ministers headed by a minister from one of the member states on a rotational basis, a Customs Union Commission, Technical Liaison Committees, a SACU tribunal and a SACU tariff board.

Members. Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland.

Aims. To promote economic development through regional co-ordination of trade.

  • Headquarters: Private Bag 13285, Windhoek 9000, Namibia.

  • Website:


  • Executive Secretary:Paulina...

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations