Lake Chad Basin Commission

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

Established by a Convention and Statute signed on 22 May 1964 by Cameroon, Chad, Niger and Nigeria, and later by the Central African Republic (Sudan has also been admitted as an observer), to regulate and control utilization of the water and other natural resources in the Basin; to initiate, promote and co-ordinate natural resources development projects and research within the Basin area; and to examine complaints and promote settlement of disputes, with a view to promoting regional co-operation.

In Dec. 1977, at Enugu in Nigeria, the 3rd summit of heads of state of the commission signed the protocol for the Harmonization of the Regulations Relating to Fauna and Flora in member countries, and adopted plans for the multi-donor approach towards major integrated development for the conventional basin. An international campaign to save Lake Chad following a report on the environmental degradation of the conventional basin was launched by heads of state at the 8th summit of the Commission in Abuja in March 1994. Lake Chad has declined in size from 25,000 sq. km in the 1960s to its current size of 2,500 sq. km. The 10th summit, held in N’Djaména in 2000, saw agreement on a US$1m. inter-basin water transfer project.

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations