East African Development Bank (EADB)

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

Established originally under the Treaty for East African Co-operation in 1967 with Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda as signatories, a new Charter for the Bank (with the same signatories) came into force in 1980. Rwanda was admitted as a member in 2008. Under the original Treaty the Bank was confined to the provision of financial and technical assistance for the promotion of industrial development in member states but with the new Charter its remit was broadened to include involvement in agriculture, forestry, tourism, transport and the development of infrastructure, with preference for projects which promote regional co-operation.

  • Official language: English.

  • Headquarters: 4 Nile Ave., PO Box 7128, Kampala, Uganda.

  • Website:

  • Director General: Vivienne Yeda (Kenya).

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations