East African Community (EAC)

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

The East African Community (EAC) was formally established on 30 Nov. 1999 with the signing in Arusha, Tanzania of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community. The Treaty envisaged the establishment of a Customs Union, as the entry point of the Community, a Common Market, subsequently a Monetary Union and ultimately a Political Federation of the East African States. In Nov. 2003 the EAC partner states signed a Protocol on the Establishment of the East African Customs Union, which came into force on 1 Jan. 2005. The Common Market came into force on 1 July 2010. There are plans to introduce a single currency in EAC member countries by 2024.

Members. Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda.

  • Headquarters: EAC Close, Afrika Mashariki Rd, PO Box 1096, Arusha, Tanzania.

  • Website:

  • Email:

  • Secretary General: Liberat Mfumukeko (Burundi).

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations