International Organisation of La Francophonie

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

The International Organisation of La Francophonie represents 84 countries and provinces/regions (including 26 with observer status) using French as an official language. It estimates that there are 220m. French speakers worldwide. Objectives include the promotion of peace, democracy, and economic and social development, through political and technical co-operation. The Secretary-General is based in Paris.

Members. Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Belgium, Benin, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Canada–New Brunswick, Canada–Quebec, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Dominica, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, France, French Community of Belgium, Gabon, Greece, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Laos, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Moldova, Monaco, Morocco, Niger, Romania, Rwanda, St Lucia, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Switzerland, Togo, Tunisia, Vanuatu, Vietnam. Associate Members. Cyprus, Ghana, New Caledonia, Qatar. Observers. Argentina, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada–Ontario, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, South Korea, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Mexico, Montenegro, Mozambique, Poland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Thailand (suspended 2014), Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay.

  • Headquarters: 19–21 avenue Bosquet, 75007 Paris, France.

  • Website (limited English):

  • Secretary-General: Michaëlle Jean (Haiti).

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations