European Trade Union Confederation (ETUC)

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

Established in 1973, the ETUC is recognized by the EU, the Council of Europe and EFTA as the only representative cross-sectoral trade union organization at a European level. It has grown steadily with a membership of 89 National Trade Union Confederations from 37 countries and ten European Industry Federations with a total of 60m. members. The Congress meets every four years; the 13th Statutory Congress took place in Paris in Sept.–Oct. 2015.

  • Address: 5 Blvd Roi Albert II, B-1210 Brussels, Belgium.

  • Website:

  • Email:

  • General Secretary: Luca Visentini (Italy).

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations