European Space Agency (ESA)

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

History. Established in 1975, replacing the European Space Research Organization (ESRO) and the European Launcher Development Organization (ELDO).

Members. Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom. Slovenia is an associate member. Canada takes part in some projects under a co-operation agreement.

Activities. ESA is the intergovernmental agency in Europe responsible for the exploitation of space science, research and technology for exclusively peaceful purposes. Its aim is to define and put into effect a long-term European space policy that allows Europe to remain competitive in the field of space technology. It has a policy of co-operation with various partners on the basis that pooling resources and sharing work will boost the effectiveness of its programmes. Its space plan covers the fields of science, Earth observation, telecommunications, navigation, space segment technologies, ground infrastructures, space transport systems and microgravity research.

  • Headquarters: 8–10 rue Mario Nikis, 75738 Paris Cedex 15, France.

  • Website:

  • Director-General: Johann-Dietrich Woerner (Germany).

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations